Kennebunk is a town in York County, Maine, United States. The population was 10,798 at the 2010 census (The population does not include Kennebunkport, a separate town). Kennebunk is home to several beaches, the Rachel Carson National Wildlife Refuge, the 1799 Kennebunk Inn, many historic shipbuilders’ homes, the Brick Store Museum and the Nature Conservancy Blueberry Barrens (known locally as the Blueberry Plains), with 1,500 acres (6 km²) of nature trails and blueberry fields.
The town is a popular summer tourist destination. Kennebunk contains fine examples of early architecture, the most noted of which is the Wedding Cake House, a Federal-style dwelling extensively decorated with scroll saw Gothic trim. This was added to the house for his wife of many years by George Washington Bourne late in his life, and not as legend has it by a ship captain for a young bride lost at sea. Local economy is tourism based. The headquarters for the natural health-care product manufacturer Tom’s of Maine is located in Kennebunk. The town’s archives are located at the local history and art center, the Brick Store Museum, on Main Street. Many residents commute to Portland, New Hampshire, and Massachusetts.
The Lafayette Elm was a tree which was planted to commemorate General Lafayette’s 1825 visit to Kennebunk. It became famous for its age, size, and survival of the Dutch elm disease that destroyed the hundreds of the other elms that once lined Kennebunk’s streets. The elm is featured on the town seal. The restored Kesslen Shoe Mill has been renamed the Lafayette Center.