Tasmania / Hobart


Tasmania is the smallest country in Australia in terms of size and population. It is located 240 kilometers southeast of the mainland of Australia and is composed of the islands of Tasmania and the other 300 islands in the vicinity. It has a population of half a million inhabitants.

This country is rich in natural resources and beauties, rare species of animals, mountains and beautiful landscapes. As much as 40% of Tasmania’s territory is located in nature reserves and national parks.

Tasmania has more than 2,000 kilometers of hiking trails and 18 national parks. The capital is Hobart.

Tasmania was first inhabited by Tasmanian Aborigines, and evidence of this dates back some 35,000 years. The island was annexed to the mainland of Australia by the end of the last ice age some 10,000 years ago. After that, with rising sea levels, Tasmania separated from the mainland of Australia. The Dutch explorer Abel Tasma was the first to see this territory in 1642. He named this territory after the governor of the Dutch East Indies – the land of Van Dimen.

At the beginning of the 19th century, Tasmania was under British rule and became a penal territory. Its first inhabitants were mostly convicts and their guards. In 1901, it officially separated from the colony and formed the state of Australia together with 5 other Australian states.

Agriculture is essential in Tasmania. Due to the huge natural wealth, tourism is also developed.


is the capital and most populous city of the Australian territory of Tasmania. It was founded in 1804 as a penal colony of Great Britain. Hobart is the second oldest city in Australia right after Sydney and today has just over 200,000 inhabitants. It is located on the Dervent River and near it is Mount Wellington. The city is the financial and administrative center of Tasmania, and its port serves as the home of the Australian and French Antarctic missions. Hobart is on the list of 10 cities in the world that you must visit according to the documentary “Lonely Planet”. This city by industry can certainly find something for everyone.

The biggest sights of the city are: Mona, Wellington Park, Theater Royal, Port Arthur, Salamanca Place, etc.

Hobart is a regional center with a large number of employees in the following industries: Public administration and security, health and social assistance, trade, education and training, professional, scientific and technical services.

Interesting facts

  • The city is named after Robert Hobart, the British Secretary of State for War and the Colonies at the time of its founding.
  • The Royal Theater in Hobart is the oldest Australian theater still in operation.
  • Tasmania, and therefore Hobart, has the cleanest air in the world and the rain is so clean that certain amounts are carried by Australian Olympic athletes who compete abroad.
  • After Sydney, Hobart is the second oldest city in Australia.
  • The French and Australian Antarctic missions are based in Hobart.