North Territory / Darwin


occupies one-sixth of the total area of ​​Australia. The territory has about 230,000 inhabitants with about 40,000 people living in remote areas. Most residents live in Darwin, Palmerston or Alice Springs. Darwin is the capital of this state.

Every region of this country has great natural resources and national parks. The whole territory is divided into two parts: Top End and Red Center.

The first settlements of this territory happened about 50,000 years ago, which makes this territory one of the oldest inhabited in the world. Like all other Australian states, the Aborigines were the first to inhabit this territory. A wide range of Aboriginal culture and traditions are still present in the culture of this region. The proof in support of that is that over 80 languages ​​are still spoken in this territory. Europeans first landed on the coast of this country in the 17th century. This territory was the first that the British tried to occupy. Out of a total of 4 attempts to settle, only one was successful. The others were unsuccessful due to great isolation and difficult conditions.

The economy of this region mainly consists of mining, however, tourism also has its share in the economy of this area, especially with the national parks Kakadu and Uluru-Kata Tjuta.



is the capital of the Northern Territory with a population of about 130,000 inhabitants. It is the smallest and northernmost city of all Australian cities. It is located on the Timor Sea. This city, like other cities in Australia, has a cosmopolitan culture with a population that makes up more than 60% of different nationalities. The multicultural mix of the city is especially emphasized with its numerous festivals and weekly food and craft markets. In business circles and industry, Darwin is known as the gateway to Southeast Asia.

The biggest sights of the city are: Deckchair Cinema, Defense of Darwin Experience, Museum & Art Gallery of the Northern Territory, Mindil Beach…

Darwin is a city where people are mostly employed in the public sector which employs about 60% of the people. In addition to the state administration, other employees work in other developed industries such as mining, oil and gas production, livestock, tourism and tropical horticulture.

Interesting facts

  • Darwin was founded in 1869.
  • It was named after the famous scientist Charles Darwin.
  • In the last hundred years, the city has been completely destroyed twice. First in Japanese airstrikes during World War II, and again in 1974 during Hurricane Tracy.
  • Darwin is known for its extremely warm climate throughout the year and monsoon showers.
  • The city has a population density of 0.1 per square kilometer, so it is advisable to greet every person you meet on the road because there are great chances that it is the only person you will see for a certain period.
  • Darwin is closer to Jakarta and Singapore than to Sydney and Melbourne.
  • This city is home to the ancient Aboriginal people of Larrakia.