Connecticut  is the southernmost state in the New England region of the United States. Its capital is Hartford and its most populous city is Bridgeport. It is part of New England, although portions of it are often grouped with New York and New Jersey as the Tri-state area. The state is named for the Connecticut River which approximately bisects the state. Connecticut is the third smallest state by area, the 29th most populous, and the fourth most densely populated of the 50 states. The Connecticut River, Thames River, and ports along Long Island Sound have given Connecticut a strong maritime tradition which continues today. The state also has a long history of hosting the financial services industry, including insurance companies in Hartford and hedge funds in Fairfield County. The southwestern border of Connecticut where it abuts New York State is marked by a panhandle in Fairfield County, containing the towns of GreenwichStamfordNew CanaanDarien, and parts of Norwalk and Wilton. This irregularity in the boundary is the result of territorial disputes in the late 17th century, culminating with New York giving up its claim to the area, whose residents considered themselves part of Connecticut, in exchange for an equivalent area extending northwards from Ridgefield to the Massachusetts border, as well as undisputed claim to Rye, New York. Areas maintained by the National Park Service include Appalachian National Scenic TrailQuinebaug and Shetucket Rivers Valley National Heritage Corridor, and Weir Farm National Historic Site.

Connecticut is known as the „Constitution State“. The origin of this nickname is uncertain, but it likely comes from Connecticut’s pivotal role in the federal constitutional convention of 1787, during which Roger Sherman and Oliver Ellsworth helped to orchestrate what became known as the Connecticut Compromise, or the Great Compromise. This plan combined the Virginia Plan and the New Jersey Plan to form a bicameral legislature, a form copied by almost every state constitution since the adoption of the federal constitution. Variations of the bicameral legislature had been proposed by Virginia and New Jersey, but Connecticut’s plan was the one that was in effect until the early 20th century, when Senators ceased to be selected by their state legislatures and were instead directly elected. Otherwise, it is still the design of Congress.

Much of Connecticut has a humid continental climate, with cold winters with moderate snowfall and mild, humid summers. Coastal Connecticut has a borderline temperate climate (called humid subtropical in some climate classifications) climate with hot, humid summers and milder winters with a mix of rain and infrequent snow. Most of Connecticut sees a fairly even precipitation pattern with rainfall/snowfall spread throughout the 12 months.

Largest cities and towns:

  1. New Haven, 130,741
  2. Stamford, 129,113
  3. Hartford, 123,243
  4. Waterbury, 110,366
  5. Norwalk, 88,438
  6. Danbury, 84.992
  7. New Britain, 73,206
  8. West Hartford, 63,324
  9. Greenwich, 62,610



Source :